SUPPORT (183 Members) . GROW (7 Association). PROMOTE (Visitors from 14 Countries). (Check The Site's Statistics)

Monday, June 05, 2006

Kini wins J K Tyre juniors racing cup

Hyderabad's Ajay Kini of 'Team Valvoline' won the inaugural J K Tyre Junior Racing Cup, which ended here today.

In the three-legged race in the FISSME category, spread over three weekends during the past two months, Kini accumulated 103 points to bag the title. Saran Vikram Tmars tallied 80 points to be runner-up followed by Vignesh Devarajan with 55 points.

Kini, a former JK Tyre national karting champion, who ruled the roost in the first four races, needed to finish among the top eight drivers for top honours. He finished first in the fifth race (eight laps) and then secured third place in the sixth and final race today.

He showed his skills in the first (fifth of the championship) race today. Kini started from the pole, but lost the lead to Deepak in the first lap.

Though the duo were involved in a fascinating duel, Deepak maintained his supremacy till the fourth lap. Kini managed to overtake Deepak at the first bend at the home stretch to forge ahead and then on to the chequered flag.

In the sixth and final race, Tmars got off to a flying start while Kini was in fourth spot behind Deepak and Vignesh. Though Tmars staved off the challenge of Deepak for top honours, Kini finished third.

Overall championship points:
1. Ajay Kini 103 pts,
2. Saran Vikram Tmars 80 pts and
3. Vignesh Devarajan 55 pts.

Race 5:
1.Ajay Kini 10:10.826 secs,
2.Deepak 10:11.385 secs,
3.Saran Vikram Tmars 10:11.56 secs and

Race 6:
1.Saran Vikram Tmars 10:14.107 secs,
2.Deepak 10:16.599 secs and
3.Ajay Kini 10:17.005 secs.

No comments: