SUPPORT (183 Members) . GROW (7 Association). PROMOTE (Visitors from 14 Countries). (Check The Site's Statistics)

Thursday, January 18, 2007

Ernakulam retains title

KOCHI: After winning its maiden men's title after a decade-long wait last year, Ernakulam has now made winning a habit. It retained the men's and boys' under-16 trophies in the K.C.M. Mather Kerala State inter-district tennis championship at Kadavanthra on Wednesday.

With its young stars Rynold Timothy, Jaisal Kohli and Aditya Bhat playing on home courts, Ernakulam held all the aces in both the finals. But, with State player Binu Mani missing from the Thiruvananthapuram line-up, the spice was missing from the men's title-clash.

The host beat Thiruvananthapuram 2-0 in both the men's and under-16 boys' finals.

Thiruvananthapuram, however, won the women's title, blanking Thrissur 2-0. The Kerala Tennis Association President, Mr. K.M. Noordin Mather, gave away the prizes.

The results: Men: Finals: Ernakulam bt Thiruvananthapuram 2-0 (Rynold Timothy bt Sharath Lal 6-0, 6-3; Sanjo T. Mathew bt N.R. Abhilash 6-2, 4-6, 6-3). Third place: Thrissur.

Boys: U-16: Ernakulam bt Thiruvananthapuram 2-0 (Jaisal Kohli bt G.L. Vivek 7-6 (7-4), 6-1; Aditya Bhat bt R.S. Advaith 6-3, 6-3). Third place: Thrissur.

No comments: