SUPPORT (183 Members) . GROW (7 Association). PROMOTE (Visitors from 14 Countries). (Check The Site's Statistics)

Tuesday, April 18, 2006

Ajay Kini sizzles

Ajay Kini had a rollicking time in the first two rounds of the JK Tyre Racing Cup 2006, brainchild of JK Tyre and Madras Motor Sports Club, winning both all the four races of the two-day event at the MMST track, Irrungattukottai near here.
After dominating on Saturday, winning both the races, Chennai lad Ajay was in top form yesterday, winning the two events staged.

In the qualifying session Ajay and P V Bharat took the pole positions in the Formula Maruti and Esteem categories respectively. The grid for the second race is based on the finishing order of the first race as per the regulations for this cup.

The first race in the Formula category saw pole leader Ajay build on a good start to race ahead in the opening laps and despite being hotly pursued by several drivers, held on to romp to a win. Finishing second was Saran Vikram from Chennai while P Vivekanandan of Coimbatore came in third. It was a repeat performance by Ajay Kini who won the second race of the the day making it four in a row. In second place was Saran Vikram followed by Sudarshan Rao.

Chennai's P V Bharat continued his good run to take the chequered flag for the third successive time in the first race of the Esteem category. Finishing way behind in second and third places were R Sriram and Bollisetti Sailesh of Vishakapatnam respectively.

The youngster from Vishakapatnam came up with a splendid effort to win race two. Gautam Shankar finished second while Sriram came third.

Ajay Kini now heads the championship table in the Formula Maruti category having notched up 43 points. In second place is Ajith Narasimhan with 22 points while Saran Vikram is in 3rd place with 17 points.

No comments: