SUPPORT (183 Members) . GROW (7 Association). PROMOTE (Visitors from 14 Countries). (Check The Site's Statistics)

Friday, September 30, 2005

Konkani Bhasha Mandal announces literary awards

Konkani Bhasha Mandal (KBM), premier institution promoting the cause of Konkani language, today announced its literary awards which will be presented on its 43rd anniversary on September 30. Besides this, educational awards and Konkani journalism award will be given.

This was announced by the KBM president, Mr Bhiku Naik in presence of other executive committee members in city this evening. He said the KBM since last 42 years gives awards to promote Konkani literature and recognise the merits of the students opting Konkani at the SSC, graduation and post-graduation level.

The anniversary function will be held at the Konkani Bhavan, Margao. The Power Minister, Mr Digamber Kamat will be the chief guest while the Rajya Sabha MP, Mr Shantaram Naik will be the guest of honour.

In literary category, the late Narcinva Damodar Nayak award consisting of a cash prize of Rs 1,001 will be awarded to Mr Prakash Vajrikar for his play Ani Ek Buto Fullo. While the late Rock Barretto award carrying a cash prize of Rs 1,001 will be awarded to Mr Paresh Kamat for his collection of poems Garbakhol.

The KBM’s literary award of Rs 1,000 will be awarded to Mr Fausto B D’Costa for his tiatr entitled Futt, while the Ligorio Furtado Trust award for Konkani journalism will be presented to Mr Chandrakant Keni.

Besides, a special award for the services of promoting the cause of Konkani language and culture will be given to Mr Suhas Dalal.

The Late Felixbab Cardoz award, instituted by Serafin Cotta for Konkani teaching carring a cash prize of Rs 1,000 will be awarded to Mr Curcinho R Pinho of Mapusa.

The educational awards will be given to Ms Apurva Dev for scoring 93 per cent marks in Konkani subject at the SSC examination, Ms Sonali Gosavi for scoring 91 per cent marks in Konkani in South Goa, Ms Teja Sinai Nagarsenkar for scoring 91 per cent marks in Konkani in HSSC exams, Ms Monali Phadte for topping MA (Konkani) and Ms Meghana Arsekar for topping in Konkani subject at the BA examination.

Mr Naik said the selection committee were comprising of Mr Madhav Borkar, Ms Meena Kakodkar and Mr Bhalchandra Gaonkar. In all 15 books were received of which 13 were in Devnagri script and two in Roman scripts, he informed. The others present at the press briefings were Mr Sanjay Talwadkar and Mr Nityanand Naik.


Anonymous said...

Well I agree but I think the post should secure more info then it has.

Anonymous said...

Hello Guru, what tempt you to post an article. This article was extremely spellbinding, remarkably since I was searching concerning thoughts on this subject last Thursday.