SUPPORT (183 Members) . GROW (7 Association). PROMOTE (Visitors from 14 Countries). (Check The Site's Statistics)

Tuesday, February 12, 2008

Mohandas Shenoy Kundapur TP Chief

Senior BJP member Mohandas Shenoy and Nagaraj Kanchan were unanimously elected as president and vice-president of Kundapura Town Panchayat.

As per the reservation notice issued by the State government for the election of president and vice-president, a general candidate was fielded for the presidents post, while for the post of vice-president, a candidate from Backward Class A category was in the fray.

Kundapur sub-division officer K N Ramesh was the election officer.

Out of 23 Town Panchayat seats, BJP had won a clear majority of 15 seats.

Former minister and MLC Dr V S Acharya lit the lamp and inaugurated the Town Panchayat presidents office.

First time in power

With the two senior leaders holding the reins in the panchayat, the BJP has for the first time come to power in Kundapur TP.

Bharathiya Janatha Party had been playing the role of an opposition with six members and now has won 15 seats.

No comments: