SUPPORT (183 Members) . GROW (7 Association). PROMOTE (Visitors from 14 Countries). (Check The Site's Statistics)

Tuesday, May 01, 2007

3 chosen for Konkani award

Three persons - creative writer Melwin Rodrigues, folk artist Chandrashekhar Kharvi and theatre artiste Avitas Adolphos Coutinho - would be conferred the Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy Awards for 2006.

Addressing a press conference here on Tuesday, Konkani Academy Chairperson Eric Ozario said the awards would be given in Shimoga on April 29. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 10,000 and a citation.

Renowned psychiatrist Dr K A Ashok Pai will preside. Bishop of Shimoga Diocese Rev Fr Dr Gerald Isaac Lobo and writer Dr Na D’Souza will also participate. The awards programme would provide an unique opportunity for people in the City to enjoy Shigmo, Phugdi, Jakai and Damam folk art. Artistes from Siddi community of North Canara district and the local Konkani community will perform on the occasion, Mr Ozario said.

No comments: