SUPPORT (183 Members) . GROW (7 Association). PROMOTE (Visitors from 14 Countries). (Check The Site's Statistics)

Saturday, March 31, 2007

ISRO-ASI annual awards

India's top space scientist P.S. Goel, who is also a secretary in the union ministry of earth sciences, has been selected for the Aryabhata award by the Astronautical Society of India (ASI).

Prior to his current posting, Goel was director of the satellite centre of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in Bangalore.

According to an ASI statement here Tuesday, the Aryabhata award carries a citation and Rs.100,000 in cash.

The ASI was set up in 1990 to foster development of astronautics in the country through dissemination of technical and other information related to the subject. It instituted awards to recognise talented Indian scientists who make significant contributions to astronautics.

Each of the other ASI awards and women scientist award carry Rs.25,000 in cash. The Teach Achievement Award carries a citation and Rs.100,000 in cash.

The other ASI awards were bagged by P. Vardaraj, a scientist at the Defence Research and Development Laboratory (DRDL), Hyderabad, in rocket-related technology, V.K. Agarwal of ISRO in spacecraft and related technologies, S.K. Shivakumar of ISRO telemetry, tracking and command network, Bangalore, in space systems management, and R. Sridharan of space physics laboratory at the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Thiruvananthapuram, in space science and applications.

For the ISRO-ASI annual awards, sponsored by ISRO, the scientists selected are T.R. Chidambaram of VSSC, B.N. Baliga of ISRO and S.B. Sharma of Space Applications Centre, Ahmedabad, in rocket and related technologies, B.S. Bhatia, director (retired) of the Developmental Education Communication Unit, Ahmedabad, in space systems management, P.S. Roy, deputy director of the National Remote Sensing Agency, Hyderabad, and V.K. Dadhwal, dean of the Indian Institute of Remote Sensing, Dehradun, in space science and applications.

Kalpana Arivind of Electro-Optic Systems, Bangalore, and Shefali Agarwal of National Remote Sensing Agency were selected for the women scientist award.

No comments: